Careers

Staffing Issues - Need advice from managers working in Public sector (Government)

• Last Updated:
  • Jul 16th, 2015 10:02 pm
Tags:
None
[OP]
Jul 14, 2015
1 posts
Thornhill, ON

Staffing Issues - Need advice from managers working in Public sector (Government)

Here comes a long vent...

I am a manager who has worked in the public sector for about 2.5 years and I am now at the end of my wits with 2 staff members working under me. Back when I used to work in the private sector, staff easily gets kicked to the curb if they do not meet their supervisors' expectations. Now, where I am, it is almost impossible to get rid of anyone, unless that person blows up the entire office building, runs around with a hacking knife, scams the organization for a couple of million dollars then brutally kills the head boss' puppy . It's that ridiculous.

I want very badly to get rid of these 2 staff members, but here where I am, NO ONE gets fired. That's why most people in my department has been there for 30+ years. If people break the rules, they might get a slap on the wrist. The only way to actually "get rid" of a person is if the position is declared 'surplus' or obsolete, or if there is a severe department budget cut. I need some advice from managers from the public sector out there... what would you do in these circumstances if you have these people working under you??