Automotive

Stone chip paint repair in East GTA/Durham region?

• Last Updated:
  • May 12th, 2021 9:48 am
[OP]
Oct 29, 2009
631 posts
311 upvotes

Stone chip paint repair in East GTA/Durham region?

I have a good handful of 2-3mm diameter stone chips right down to the primer/metal on the hood of my Focus RS. Other than the chips themselves the paint is quite nice and does not have general road-rash. I have some experience with filling these myself with mixed success. Does anybody have any recommendations for a shop (or even better a mobile service) that does nice work at filling stone chips? Located in Durham region but don't mind driving a little for good service. Would also like to know what to expect for cost if anybody has had this done on their car.
4 replies
[OP]
Oct 29, 2009
631 posts
311 upvotes
I've seen some people refer to Paint Force on here. Reviews do seem a bit dated. In one RFD post the member who called him with a similar request to mine (multiple stone chip repair) resulted in them recommending the owner fill them himself. Guess he doesn't like stone chip work :).
Deal Fanatic
Oct 13, 2008
5101 posts
2006 upvotes
Wash the car clean.

Towel dry.

Use a touchup pen.

Then air dry.

Then seal with a coat of ceramic wax.

All DIY.
16'x11' Living Room 11' Cathedral Ceiling. Hisense 65Q8G. Denon AVR-S740H 7.2 setup. Jamo Classic 10 280W Towers - FR+FL; Polk S35 - Center; Klipsch R51M - RR+RL; Klipsch R14M - Dolby FHR+FHL; Polk HTS10 Subwoofer x2. Unlocked Android Boxes from Taiwan x2
[OP]
Oct 29, 2009
631 posts
311 upvotes