• Feb 25th, 2019 1:29 am
Tags:
[OP]
Banned
Jul 1, 2017
239 posts
138 upvotes

Strung along - now what?

I'm pretty sure I was strung-along for the last year and I feel defeated, humiliated, and I'm holding some resentment.

I am a CPA with about 7 years experience prior to starting my current role as an financial analyst through a contract. When initially discussing the contract, the next-step was explicitly stated to be a Controller role within 2 years. This contract had a low 70s wage and I assumed everything would fall into place in time - I accepted and began what I thought would be an excellent opportunity. Fast forward a year and, I went perm, my experience and exposure has been great, and I've been recognized as a high performer across many areas within the Company across the world. The problem is I am still at low 70s wage and all career orientated discussions with my boss have gone no-where - it's all talk.

Recently, I pushed to get some answers and here is the outcome:
1. The next move in Finance (manager-level) will only happen if someone retires, quits, or gets fired.
2. I was also told the pitch to get me a raise to be comparable with the market (85-95) is not happening unless it happens to everyone else - there are pervasive issues with wages across the company.