• Last Updated:
  • Nov 10th, 2019 6:13 pm
[OP]
Feb 28, 2019
4 posts
2 upvotes

Suggestions for travelling from Windsor (ON) to Edmonton via road

Greetings,

I Will be driving to Edmonton from Windsor (ON) via road and have been looking for the best route options for the past couple weeks.

These are the 3 route options that I found so far:

1: Canadian route (Windsor - Barrie - Wawa - Thunder bay - Winnipeg - Saskatoon - Edmonton)
This is roughly 3710 kms and would require 38 hours of driving

2: Windsor - Sault Ste. Marie (via Michigan) - Wawa and then follow the same route as mentioned above.
This is roughly 3250 kms and would require 33 hours of driving

3: US route - Windsor - Chicago - Minneapolis - Minot (North Dakota) - Regina - Saskatoon - Edmonton
This is roughly 3100 kms and would require 30 hours of driving.

Since this is my first time driving almost cross country and it’s almost start of Winter, I would like to know if you guys have any suggestions.

The Canadian route, even though adds about 600 kms gives me a homely feeling as I will be driving in Canada throughout my journey.
Whereas, the US route would be much faster and cheaper I believe when it comes to gas and hotels.

I will be also looking at the weather conditions couple days before I start my journey. Planning to start my journey on November 1st.

At this point, I’m just wondering if anyone has travelled via road during winters and have any suggestions?
Also, would like to know about the road conditions?

Thank you
16 replies
Deal Expert
Feb 7, 2017
16224 posts
13506 upvotes
Eastern Ontario
If you’ve never done the all Cdn route (TransCanada Hwy), I say that everyone should do it at least once in their life so as to truly see this great country and understand how huge and diverse it is geographically

The downside though is it’s a pretty deserted bit of highway thru Northern Ontario (compared to going any US route)