Switch over from Banking to Accounting?

• Last Updated:
  • Sep 28th, 2021 7:05 pm
Sep 27, 2017
84 posts
37 upvotes
Vancouver

Switch over from Banking to Accounting?

I have been thinking about my situation for a while and any insights in either field would be appreciated.

I have a Business degree (Majored in Finance) and I am currently an analyst in commercial banking (for a regional bank, not big 5). I love what I do and the work/life balance. However, I always wanted to complete my CPA and so I went back to school (UBC DAP) to complete my required accounting courses and received an audit position offer for next Fall in a national firm (I did not apply for big 4).

Here is my dilemma – I will be 28 next year and I don't want to start over again. I can definitely obtain my CPA from my current job, but I feel I would be at a disadvantage in future jobs compared to a CPA who has actual audit experience. I have looked into the CFA and other designations and I honestly feel that the CPA might be more align to what I do or what I want to do in the future.

Do you think its worth it to switch over? I mean I can re-assess in ~ 3 years after I am designated. I have no plans to stay in public practice and will definitely go back to industry (whether that's in a FP&A or a banking role)
14 replies
Deal Addict
Dec 24, 2007
1811 posts
2410 upvotes
BC
28 and you're thinking you're too late? You've barely even began your working life as you have more than 30 years to go before even thinking of retirement. If you honestly believe that the CPA is more align with what you want to do, go for it, otherwise you will regret it later.