• Jul 1st, 2012 3:59 pm
Tags:
None
[OP]
Jul 24, 2010
42 posts
2 upvotes

taking a company vehicle home / paid travel time / ministy investigation

I work in the service industry, and we take our company vehicles home everynight and leave for our job sites from our houses in the morning.
Our company refuses to pay our travel time. Our hours of work are 8am to 4pm. No matter where we work we are expected to be onsite for 8am. For example, if I live in Hamilton, and Im Expected to be in fort erie for 8, I would Leave at 630 am and eat the 1.5 hours travel. the Ministry says (in Print) that in certain circumstances when a company has an employee take vehicles home for the companies benefit, then travel time is paid, But is very vague on what constitutes company benefit or any other defining details. when contacted via phone, (which ive done at least 5 times just out of curiosity to get the opinions of 5 different people at the ministry) they have ALL said we should be getting paid travel time because we take the vehicles home for the company benefit because we dont have to go to the shop every morning for 8am to pick up the vans. If we had to be at the shop at 8am to start our day ( like you would if you worked at say Tim hortons) then we wouldnt get to our job sites untill 10am etc.. thus its the companies benefit and insures they get the most time out of us in a business day. The ministy will not give me anything in writing and say an investigation must be opened to ensure the company is doing whats right, but when an investigation is opened it Can NOT be annonymous, they must tell the employer who brought them in, which opens a can of worms to say the least..

so with that said, does anyone work for a company where you take a company vehicle home and get paid travel? or do you leave your driveway at your start time ) ie 8am etc) any other experiences relating to this?
5 replies
Deal Guru
Mar 1, 2004
12862 posts
1473 upvotes
Pickering