• Last Updated:
  • Feb 27th, 2018 7:59 pm
Tags:
[OP]
Dec 16, 2017
8 posts
1 upvote

Tax Return Changing

My common law husband and I have been filing separately as "single" for the years 2004-2015 ( this was advice given to me because I am still legally married to someone else). Since I felt this info was wrong, we have filed together as common law for 2016 and 2017. I was the major bread winner, with my CL hubby making next to nothing. Up until 2016, we both received GST and the Trillium benefit, but next to nothing for income tax refund. I have noticed that since we file together, only one of us gets GST and Trillium and my refund has increased by about $2000.. Should I go back and change my marital status for the previous years? I understand it will result in reassessments etc, but I feel I would be "owed" more of a refund for those years... I'm sure one of us would owe back the GST and Trillium, but I feel the tax refund would be greater than the amount owed... Then I can have a clear conscience.
If you can't change something, change the way you think about it!
13 replies
Deal Addict
Jan 19, 2017
4848 posts
2801 upvotes