Tax time! I'm a public accountant, so ask me, I'll try to respond frequently

• Last Updated:
  • Mar 27th, 2024 6:51 pm
Deal Fanatic
Jul 4, 2005
9018 posts
2816 upvotes
Ottawa
Another q regarding principal res: the other owner had this property as their principal residence for the first few years before moving out. Would "Adjusted cost base at the time of the disposition" = the price of the house at the move out time? We should have an official appraisal value from that time.
Jun 2, 2017
787 posts
390 upvotes
Hi, for equities, can you deduct the commission for when you both buy and sell? Or only when you sell?

Ex. I buy X share and get charged a 9.99 commission. I Sell X share and get charged a 9.99 commission. Can I deduct the $19.98 (9.99x2) against capital gains?
Deal Fanatic
Nov 19, 2004
9356 posts
2211 upvotes
Cambridge, ON
CEOofPopeyes wrote: Hi, for equities, can you deduct the commission for when you both buy and sell? Or only when you sell?

Ex. I buy X share and get charged a 9.99 commission. I Sell X share and get charged a 9.99 commission. Can I deduct the $19.98 (9.99x2) against capital gains?
Short answer, yes. Longer answer, the buy commission is part of your ACB calculation so it is reducing your gains there. The sell commission is an outlay and reduces your capital gains.
Aug 7, 2006
287 posts
87 upvotes
Toronto
My company granted me some shares which i paid taxes on when I received. After which I requested an xfer into my personal trading account (Margin) in Questrade. From there i then moved all the shares split between my Questrade TFSA and RRSP account.

On the transaction summary the amounts for gross amount and commission are zeros. The xfer into Margin has a code of TFI (transfer in of shares) and the move to RRSP/TFSA has a code of CON (for contribution). On the T5008 Questrade provided, it shows the shares but I'm unsure how to represent this on a T5008 or Schedule 3.

Looking for some help.
May 24, 2018
799 posts
757 upvotes
Ontario