Personal Finance

Tax time! I'm a public accountant, so ask me, I'll try to respond frequently

• Last Updated:
  • Jan 27th, 2023 11:03 pm
Dec 14, 2022
1 posts
Toronto
I incorporated and have two questions about federal corporate accounting (Canada):

1. Capital expenditure: For capital expenditure spent in a house or building in 2022, how many years can be spread for that spending, what is the allowance for each year?
2. Lifetime capital gains exemption: Can the lifetime capital gains exemption be claimed when the corporation is about to close or dissolved? Does this exemption need to be applied ahead of time?

Thanks!
Jun 6, 2014
309 posts
136 upvotes
Toronto, ON
I have a question about making installments for income taxes. So in the past I have had to make some small tax payments at tax filing for income on interest and dividends. Last year with the stock market at a high, I sold some stock and paid 4k in income taxes at filing time. So, from my understanding, if one's net tax owing is more than 3K you need to make installments the following year. Well I never got the letter make installments this year. But I made an installment payment myself of 4k as I know that I will owe again at tax filing since I sold some stock at the beginning of this year.

So my question is for next year: my stocks are currently sitting at a loss due to the current market, but I will hold until they go back up and collect dividends. But if it does go up above my ACB I will sell. How do I pay installments on this for next year? Since I don't know if I will be selling as much depending on where the market goes.
Deal Addict
Feb 2, 2007
1036 posts
1010 upvotes
GTA