Personal Finance

Tax time! I'm a public accountant, so ask me, I'll try to respond frequently

• Last Updated:
  • Jan 27th, 2023 11:03 pm
Nov 26, 2019
163 posts
111 upvotes
Is the cash back from setting up the investment account (such as TD direct investing offer (300 dollars cash back when you deposit and hold 3000 dollars for a couple of month) or check/saving account (such as tangerine 20% cash back for visa debit transaction) taxable ? If yes, how to report it?
Deal Fanatic
Jan 11, 2008
7726 posts
1193 upvotes
GTA
Thank you for this thread.

In addition to my salaried job, I have some independent contractor income this year. For December, do I claim this on my taxes based on the year the work was done or the year payment was received? (e.g., for my December invoice, all work on that invoice was completed in December 2022, but the invoice was submitted and paid on January 3, 2023.)
When your mind says give up, hope whispers "one more try"
Never say never
Aug 2, 2015
112 posts
185 upvotes
Paying off your LOC is not a taxable event. The taxable event is at the source of the income which allows you to pay off the LOC. Assuming your SO was already taxed on her money that she uses to help you pay off your LOC I don't believe there is an issue here or a need to report anything to CRA.
r3ddrag0nx wrote: I have a line of credit I use to strictly invest and I’m currently paying it off. I’d like my significant other (SO) to help pay it off as the interest has become unbearable at these rates. Is this possible? How does this work come tax time? Do I need to do anything special? Track payments and repay my SO?

Fwiw, I pay our household expenses and they save, but again, I’m unable to repay loans and expenses effectively given rising rates.

Any advice would be appreciated.
Mar 5, 2007
842 posts
202 upvotes
Toronto