Personal Finance

Tax time! I'm a public accountant, so ask me, I'll try to respond frequently

• Last Updated:
  • Feb 3rd, 2023 10:25 am
Feb 13, 2017
232 posts
220 upvotes
ON
Are ETF shares in registered accounts (TFSA, RRSP) included when calculating adjusted cost basis for shares in a non-registered account?
e.g. I have VFV in both TFSA and margin account.
Deal Expert
Dec 12, 2009
25570 posts
15423 upvotes
Toronto
cutepoison wrote: Are ETF shares in registered accounts (TFSA, RRSP) included when calculating adjusted cost basis for shares in a non-registered account?
e.g. I have VFV in both TFSA and margin account.
No, each account has different taxation.
Koodo $40/6GB
Public Mobile $40/15GB, $35/20GB, lot less with rewards
Tangerine Bank, EQ Bank, Simplii
Deal Addict
Mar 3, 2018
3056 posts
3433 upvotes
GTA
travelfever wrote: Had a conversation with friends how should one withdraw money, for how much each year and for how many years from RRSP with minimal taxes paid when retiring at 55?

For example, $300,000 in RRSP when retiring, total other income $5000 yearly. My take would be to withdraw yearly non taxable income amount minus $5000 yearly income until RRSP is exhausted to pay zero tax. My friends had different views on this.
With your plan the investment income earned will likely be more then the amount withdrawn each year. Meaning the RRSP continues to grow where as a large balance it may get taxed at up to 50% in one lump sum on death.

I would be more inclined to withdraw up to an amount that is subject to the lowest tax rate. Generally under $50K per year. Maybe clearing out the RRSP entirely by age 64 to qualify for GIS at age 65.
Deal Addict
Jul 15, 2009
2740 posts
1964 upvotes
will888 wrote: No, each account has different taxation.
Except when there's a capital loss in the non-registered account. A registered account can make it into a superficial loss.
Deal Expert
Dec 12, 2009
25570 posts
15423 upvotes
Toronto