Taxation - answering any questions here

• Last Updated:
  • Mar 18th, 2024 7:25 am
Oct 30, 2017
250 posts
71 upvotes
Ottawa, Ontario

Taxation - answering any questions here

Hi, I am a professional accountant in Ottawa, Ontario and I am doing my practice now. I am opening this forum to provide help. If you have any accounting or tax related questions. You can post it here. I am familiar with Ontario tax or Quebec tax system. Thank you
Last edited by Redmask on Sep 17th, 2018 8:05 am, edited 3 times in total.
Reason: No advertising in posts and no external links in sigs, read the forum rules before continuing.
thank you very much
Philip Kwok, CPA, CGA
725 replies
Deal Addict
Feb 14, 2009
1280 posts
518 upvotes
PhilipK796978 wrote: Hi, I am a professional accountant in Ottawa, Ontario and I am doing my practice now. I am opening this forum to provide help. If you have any accounting or tax related questions. You can post it here. I am familiar with Ontario tax or Quebec tax system. Thank you
Good idea!
Feb 23, 2008
21 posts
4 upvotes
Toronto
Hi there, on line 101 on HST returns, do we include all global sales or just those that are subject to HST?
Oct 30, 2017
250 posts
71 upvotes
Ottawa, Ontario
on Line 101, you report all the sales, charge/not charge HST, the sales reported need to match the total income you report in your income statement
Last edited by Redmask on Oct 1st, 2018 9:35 am, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: Removed link
thank you very much
Philip Kwok, CPA, CGA
Feb 23, 2008
21 posts
4 upvotes
Toronto
Thanks. One other question. How are HST refunds categorized in accounting system like Xero?
Oct 30, 2017
250 posts
71 upvotes
Ottawa, Ontario
this is an asset or liability on the balance sheet.
thank you very much
Philip Kwok, CPA, CGA
Aug 20, 2018
61 posts
42 upvotes
Kind of an odd question.

How much work is involved in doing a T1 tax return if the corporation had zero financial activity for multiple years?