Tags:
None
[OP]
Sep 3, 2015
2 posts
Toronto, ON

Taxation issues on disposition of property by non-residents

Hi Everyone,

I have a situation here where myself, non-resident in Canada, owned a townhouse and now planning to sell it.

I was an International Student before and that is how pretty much the reason why I got that townhouse at the first place - and now after moving out of Canada to go back to my own country, I feel that this is time for me to sell the townhouse. Question regarding taxation just occurred to me and now I am left wondering what to do with the taxation part.

I had no valid SIN number (used to have one) - I have only done one time Income Tax Filing (just to get back some tax credits on my excessive tuition fees).

What would you recommend me doing next to amend this situation, and enable me to proceed with the disposition of the property?

Thank you all!
3 replies
Deal Fanatic
May 9, 2007
9548 posts
2825 upvotes
Vancouver Island, BC
I think you might get better discussion in either the "personal finance" or "investing" forum.
"It is difficult to get a man to understand something when his salary depends on his not understanding it." Upton Sinclair

“Our house is on fire.” Greta Thunberg
Deal Expert
Sep 19, 2004
23788 posts
5464 upvotes
where I belong
poifullmeiji wrote: Hi Everyone,

I have a situation here where myself, non-resident in Canada, owned a townhouse and now planning to sell it.

I was an International Student before and that is how pretty much the reason why I got that townhouse at the first place - and now after moving out of Canada to go back to my own country, I feel that this is time for me to sell the townhouse. Question regarding taxation just occurred to me and now I am left wondering what to do with the taxation part.

I had no valid SIN number (used to have one) - I have only done one time Income Tax Filing (just to get back some tax credits on my excessive tuition fees).