Real Estate

Tenant Damage - LTB or Small Claims Court

• Last Updated:
  • Mar 10th, 2019 4:37 pm
Nov 11, 2016
14 posts
6 upvotes

Tenant Damage - LTB or Small Claims Court

I'm dealing with a situation where a tenant has damaged one of my rental units - they scratched the laminate flooring so badly in a few rooms that it will need to be replaced. This is my first time having to pursue a tenant for damages so I'm hoping to get some advice from other landlords that may be on the RFD forums.

The tenant in question has given notice and will be leaving at the end of April. From speaking with the Landlord Tenant Board, my understanding is that I have one of two options:
  1. Serve tenant with notice before they move out and have the matter heard by the Landlord Tenant Board.
  2. Wait until after the tenant has moved out and bring them to small claims court (as the LTB will not get involved since they are no longer tenants).

I'm wondering if anyone here has had experience with LTB vs small claims and can tell me if I should be preferring one over the other.

Also, any information anyone can give regarding what to expect with the process, would be greatly appreciated. I have lots of photos (both before and after) along with a document the tenant signed when they moved in indicating that there was no damage so I'm hoping it will be relatively painless but, again, this is my first time.
35 replies
Deal Addict
Dec 21, 2010
1864 posts
1174 upvotes
GTA
First thing I always do is try to mitigate my damages buy addressing the issue directly with the tenant before going through other channels. If they are not willing to agree to pay half the cost, then I would let them know that I have to pursue further action.

Of course, make sure you have their new address BEFORE you make any threats to pursue action.

Good job getting the photos before and after the move-in to present day!

Did you collect a damage deposit?

What province are you in?
Award Winning Realtor - I LOVE MY JOB!!