Personal Finance

Is TFSA contribution room supposed to grow if you are a non resident?

• Last Updated:
  • Mar 6th, 2020 6:44 pm
[OP]
Deal Addict
Dec 13, 2016
4324 posts
3848 upvotes

Is TFSA contribution room supposed to grow if you are a non resident?

I have been a non resident for tax purposes for around 4 years yet when I log in to my CRA account I see that contribution room has grown substantially.

Is this normal?
13 replies
Deal Fanatic
Jan 31, 2006
8025 posts
2355 upvotes
Toronto
Did you notify CRA that you are no longer a resident?
Feb 9, 2020
201 posts
127 upvotes
No, you do not accrue TFSA contribution room while you are a non-resident for tax purposes.
Mar 26, 2012
461 posts
360 upvotes
TFSA Eligibility
As long as your over 18 years of age and you have a valid SIN number, you're perfectly eligible to open a TFSA. A person determined to be a non-resident of Canada for income tax purposes can hold a valid SIN and be allowed to open a TFSA. However, any contributions made by a non-resident are subject to a 1% tax for each month the contribution stays in the account.
Jun 3, 2017
182 posts
142 upvotes
BiegeToyota wrote: I have been a non resident for tax purposes for around 4 years yet when I log in to my CRA account I see that contribution room has grown substantially.

Is this normal?
You didn't (properly) file an "exit" tax return; the tax return where you denote the date you become a non-resident. If you would've (properly) filed, your TFSA section of the MyCRA account would be completely blacked out with a message saying that you're not eligible for TFSA as a non-resident.

Ask me how I know.
[OP]
Deal Addict
Dec 13, 2016
4324 posts
3848 upvotes