[OP]
Dec 27, 2005
603 posts
117 upvotes
Toronto, ON

TFSA Limits and Withdrawal Questions

Hello All,

Newbie here looking to invest and Bank with TD

I will be investing close to 20K lump sum in ETFS. and thinking about Saving Monthly in E-Series and Invest Transfer Every quarter to the ETF's

Some questions regarding the above

1. Do I walk in to a TD Branch to open a TDDI TFSA? Or is there another way ( I might invest in RRSPs as well but not at this time . Should I open all at once
2. If I’m opening TD E-series and transferring to ETF’s quarterly , would it effect my TFSA limits? What is the process? If anyone who does this frequency can chip in, I’d appreciate it
3. To Open TD E-series, I go in the branch open a normal Mutual fund and then Convert it?
5 replies
Deal Addict
Feb 1, 2012
1598 posts
2373 upvotes
Thunder Bay, ON
I will answer Q3 before Q2 for clarity

1) Any TD Canada Trust branch can open a TDDI account for you. Not sure if you can open registered accounts online w. TD. Up to you if you want to open RRSP at the same time. I have several TDDI accounts with $0 balance including US margin and short accounts.

3) You can buy eSeries in TDDI accounts. If you are opening a TDDI account for ETFs then skip the TD eSeries account and just do it all in TDDI.

2) If you hold eSeries in a TDDI TFSA you can just sell it and buy ETFs with no effect on your TFSA limit since it is all within the same account. If you withdraw funds from a TFSA account you do not get that contribution room back until the next year. One way around that is to ask the receiving FI to initiate a registered transfer, but the FI you are transferring out of may impose a transfer fee. You would need to check their policies and fee schedule. Save yourself the headache and just do it all in TDDI.
I solemnly swear, to never assume I have an inkling at which direction the market will head, and to never make any investments based on a timing strategy.
[OP]
Dec 27, 2005
603 posts
117 upvotes