• Jan 2nd, 2018 1:27 am
Tags:
None
Jul 28, 2015
18 posts
7 upvotes
Toronto, ON

Thinking about doing masters after undergrad - managing money

I'm in my last year of my undergrad at UofT and I have about 50k saved up, tuition paid off, no outstanding loans (but no car or any assets really). I'm thinking about doing Master's after I graduate. I currently have this 50k sitting in EQ for a measly 2.3%/yr interest.

Should I park the money in a TFSA (and buy ETFs/mutual funds/stocks) and invest a little in cryptocurrencies? I feel like keeping my money at EQ is a waste and will just put me behind everyone.
Last edited by torvalds on Dec 22nd, 2017 4:56 pm, edited 1 time in total.
15 replies
Deal Fanatic
Dec 20, 2004
5603 posts
2005 upvotes
Toronto
Don’t - complete waste of time and money.
Deal Addict
Aug 9, 2010
1341 posts
854 upvotes
Waterloo
torvalds wrote: I'm in my last year of my undergrad at UofT and I have about 50k saved up, tuition paid off, no outstanding loans (but no car or any assets really). I'm thinking about doing Master's after I graduate. I currently have this 50k sitting in EQ for a measly 2.3%/yr interest.

Should I park the money in a TFSA (and buy ETFs/mutual funds/stocks) and invest a little in cryptocurrencies? I feel like keeping my money at EQ is a waste and will just put me behind everyone.

I'm anticipating needing to pay about 12-14k/yr on tuition + living costs (I took into account that I will be working as a teaching assistant at the university).
1) Congrats on graduating debt-free with so much in the bank; you’re way ahead of the game.

2) What are you considering studying and what are your plans post-Masters? You’re in a great position right now - do you NEED to spend the extra money and time to do more education? Where does it get you that you won’t get to with an undergrad and a few years of job experience?