• Last Updated:
  • Feb 3rd, 2021 10:39 am
[OP]
Dec 31, 2019
8 posts
1 upvote
Toronto

Timberlands with dress pants?

Hi guys, first time posting here although i've been reading on this site for quite some time

Do you guys think it's okay to wear Timberlands with dress pants when going to work in winter, so only for the commuting? It may sound like a very stupid question, but such do's and dont's are completely new to me. As an undergrad i used to wear tracksuits, even in senior year and as a teacher assistant (STEM field); the most formal thing i wore was a jean. Now i got a job in the finance sector and i have been told the dress code was business casual, so I'll basically be wearing dress pants everyday until I'm sure 5-pocket pants are okay. I am not a fool and it didn't even came to my mind to wear timbs in the office, but I am not sure if wearing them for commute time and entering the building with timbs on feet combined with dress pants is okay, even if i change to dress shoes in the office.

Thanks in advance for your advices :)
22 replies
Deal Fanatic
Apr 23, 2007
9929 posts
1085 upvotes
Mississauga
Just buy Galoshes
RFD 43-0-0
Ebay 35-0-0
|Dance.Flirt.Music.Chill|
Deal Expert
Mar 18, 2005
21401 posts
3364 upvotes
Niagara Falls
I guess it would have to depend entirely on your workplace environment. I've never worked anywhere where anyone gave damn what my winter boots looked like. I'd be pretty surprised if it was an issue but there are jerks out there.
Deal Guru
May 9, 2006
12038 posts
2644 upvotes
If it's business casual, then wearing Tims all day should be fine... even if it is a fashion faux pas, I seriously doubt anyone will call you out on it.