• Last Updated:
  • May 26th, 2021 9:14 am
[OP]
Deal Fanatic
Feb 4, 2010
5106 posts
4044 upvotes

Tips for negotiating salary and other perks

I have very little experience with salary negotiations or how it works - e.g. is it done via phone call, email.

I haven't gotten a job offer yet but it's looking pretty good and things are moving fast - I don't want to get caught off guard, I want to be prepared especially because the HR person is a seasoned, no-nonsense type person who knows their stuff and can read people, but they are personable and helpful...actually they're great, by far the best I've dealt with. It's also clear that they really like/want me for this job. I'm very qualified for this position and have extensive and relevant education and experience.

What I know so far is that their max salary for this position is close to what I make now, which they're aware of so I'm hoping they'll offer me pretty close to the max. I actually would be OK with taking a bit of pay cut because this is a career switch and this job is perfect for me at this time. I've also had a hard time making a career switch - not many options and very few interviews. Getting my foot in the door would also open so many future doors, so totally worth it. However, if I can get what I make now or a little bit more, that obviously would be preferred, particularly because the commute is going to be brutal (fortunately I can take the GO so don't have to worry about driving but it's LONG and WFH after the lockdown doesn't look like it would be an option, but I'm going to try.

Any tips on how I can negotiate the max salary range should I get an offer? What else can I negotiate for since there's little flexibility with salary and WFH? I was thinking more vacation than what someone would get starting out which is usually 3 weeks and greater work flexibility like compressed work weeks if WFH isn't an option.

TIA
13 replies
Deal Addict
Jan 1, 2017
1480 posts
1341 upvotes