• Jul 27th, 2020 9:19 pm
[OP]
Deal Addict
Jul 26, 2018
1071 posts
1395 upvotes
Canada, eh?

Tire and Wheel Claims with City

Submitted a claim with the city today because a pothole managed to dent 2 wheels and also rip the sidewall of both my tires.

Quick question since this is my first time doing a claim with the city. Should I be getting an estimate from a repair shop/stealership first, and then submit it to the city? Or make the repairs then submit the bill in?

Much thanks!
22 replies
Deal Expert
Jul 30, 2007
27299 posts
12320 upvotes
Toronto
make the repairs and then submit. after all, the whole process of this claim can take months and months to get a hear back.
[OP]
Deal Addict
Jul 26, 2018
1071 posts
1395 upvotes
Canada, eh?
booblehead wrote: make the repairs and then submit. after all, the whole process of this claim can take months and months to get a hear back.
Thank you!
Deal Fanatic
Jul 26, 2007
5023 posts
2652 upvotes
Toronto
I am curious to see what the reply from city will be when it's budget is in negatives and will continue to be negative for coming years. Will they admit fault but say sorry no money or simply not take any responsibility.
Deal Expert
Mar 25, 2005
21610 posts
2372 upvotes
peteryorkuca wrote: I am curious to see what the reply from city will be when it's budget is in negatives and will continue to be negative for coming years. Will they admit fault but say sorry no money or simply not take any responsibility.
The city's insurance will pay out claims. The fact they are broke does not change their liability.
[OP]
Deal Addict
Jul 26, 2018
1071 posts
1395 upvotes
Canada, eh?
peteryorkuca wrote: I am curious to see what the reply from city will be when it's budget is in negatives and will continue to be negative for coming years. Will they admit fault but say sorry no money or simply not take any responsibility.
Will update when i hear back. lol, i drove past the area today again and they had crews filling up the hole.
Deal Addict