Computers & Electronics

Troubleshooting desktop computer - monitor, mouse, keyboard not recognized?

• Last Updated:
  • Dec 25th, 2019 6:44 am
[OP]
Apr 19, 2014
14 posts
2 upvotes
Toronto, ON

Troubleshooting desktop computer - monitor, mouse, keyboard not recognized?

I am having trouble getting my old desktop computer to work and was wondering if anyone has any suggestions on how to troubleshoot/solve the issue. I'll try to provide as much information as possible but I'm not too tech savvy so please go easy on me lol

Issue:
- desktop turns on: motherboard LEDs light up, PSU fan turning, CPU fan turning, GPU fan turning
- BUT monitor will not turn on (yellow LED light on, should be green when turned on), "HDMI no signal" shows up and screen turns blank; I know the monitor works because it works perfectly fine when plugged into my laptop
- USB mouse and keyboard are not working (mouse LED briefly blinks when computer is powered on); the keyboard and mouse work when plugged into my laptop
- there's no beeping sound at all from the computer when turned on

This specific pattern seems to be pretty common because googling shows up a lot of results.
Based on the search, I have tried some conservative approaches so far:
- replacing the CMOS battery on the motherboard
- replugging the cables on all components
- removing and placing back the RAMs
- removing the GPU
- unplugging optical drive and secondary HDD from PSU, leaving SSD and motherboard plugged in

Desktop specs:
- CPU: Core i5-3470 3.2Ghz
- GPU: Gigabyte Radeon RX570 (I JUST purchased it and I can't get my computer to work!)
- MOBO: ASUS P8B75-M
- RAM: 10gb (4 + 4 + 2 from some random company I think)
- PSU: EVGA 500B
- SSD: Crucial M500

History of the desktop:
- the desktop was purchased pre-built from NMICROVIP back in 2013
- GPU, PSU, and SSD were replaced and worked fine for about 2 years