• Jul 19th, 2020 4:30 pm
Tags:
[OP]
Mar 5, 2018
348 posts
153 upvotes

Which TV Stick to buy?

Hi all,

I have little knowledge about these TV Stick, only know the name of Amazon Fire TV Stick.
My TV is an Sony (not Adndroid) 48'', we usually play youtube and Netflix with the builtin app. But recenlty, it seems Youtube has changed their stream app, so it becomes unusable on my TV.
When starting, youtube displays some ads then the video play a while, then new ads in the middle and after the ads, it becomes frozen, cannot continue the video.

So I think to buy an external HDMI TV stick to use with this TV. Please recommend a good quality TV Stick not very expensive and easy to use (for my wife). Don't need fancy, complicated stuffs, only Youtube and Netflix.
By the way, the TV model is KDL-48R550C. Look like Sony TVs now are not as good as other brand like Samsung. In my family, there are several using Samsung since years without problem.

Thank you in advance
11 replies
Deal Addict
Nov 15, 2005
4214 posts
1936 upvotes
Depends on how much you want to do, fire stick allows you to do more stuff and comes with a remote. I love my 4 Chromecasts, it’s pretty dummy proof that even my in-laws can use it. Most people are always around their phone anyhow and you just use it to control what you’re watching.

My wife loves it so much that she said the chromecast is the best tech device in the house.
May 27, 2012
353 posts
165 upvotes
Whitehorse, YT
firestick lets u install some basic games and you can also play nintendo 64/old gaming system games...
it lets u hook up bluetooth controllers, bluetooth headphones

roku stick is very locked down.. its streaming apps only

if you search for and watch youtube videos on firestick 4k hacks.. ull see what it can do.

i bought the regular firestick and it was bti slow... exchanged it for 4k and big difference in speed. i also got wyzecam so i just say ... alexa show me front door or alexa show me daughters room and it shows it on my tv