• Last Updated:
  • Dec 20th, 2020 1:33 pm
Tags:
[OP]
Aug 21, 2012
324 posts
208 upvotes

Two freezers in one outlet?

Hi all, newbie here needing help before proceeding with a purchase. Wanted to buy a 2nd freezer for my parents but need your input.

I wanted to buy this Danby upright freezer here, which is energy star certified:

https://www.danby.com/products/freezers/dufm085a2wp1/

Was going to put this in the basement storage room in the same 15amp wall outlet as another chest freezer. Not sure on the specs aa its an old freezer from the 2000's but I attached a pic of it below:

In this same room, there's also a washer and dryer if that's any help.

Would it be okay to plug both freezers in the same outlet? Would it affect the circuit at all? Will there be a power outage at all? Thanks for your time!
Images
  • 20201219_001024.jpg
14 replies
Deal Expert
Feb 8, 2014
19650 posts
7200 upvotes
Socially Distanced
I have no idea the peak usage of either device, if your local library has a kill a watt energy meter you can grab it and test both devices. Bear in mind that their use is not constant so you need to watch it for an entire compressor running cycle.
This assumes the library is open these days and even carries an energy meter (many in Ontario do).
Conversely the placard on the back may have peak amperage use. Or you can try contacting the company though for the old unit who knows if they have that info on file.

All that said i suspect you will be fine but i cannot guarantee it.
In fact in Rand McNally they wear hats on their feet and hamburders eat people
Deal Expert
Feb 8, 2014
19650 posts
7200 upvotes
Socially Distanced
Why not get a larger freezer and just use one freezer?
In fact in Rand McNally they wear hats on their feet and hamburders eat people
Jun 10, 2003
705 posts
117 upvotes
Halifax