• Last Updated:
  • Jul 6th, 2005 11:02 am
Tags:
None
Nov 6, 2004
329 posts
137 upvotes

University: PDA vs. Laptop

I'm a student so obviously I'm cash strapped and don't want to spend very much money. The lower the better and definately sub $1000. I realize I can't get much in the way of a laptop for $1000. (either bottom of the line or a used laptop)

I want to take what I get to school to take notes (most likely taking the bus). A PDA would be easier to transport. Then later transfer my notes onto a desktop computer at home. Also the thought of purchasing a memory card and using the PDA as an mp3 player is intriguing. Do PDA's have good sound quality (in general)?

Aside from its ease of transporting and cheaper price, a PDA gets beaten by a laptop in almost everything else (IE bigger screen, more powerful, better games (yeah :P), etc)

So my question for university and college students is, which comes in handy more, a laptop or a PDA?
41 replies
Deal Addict
Jan 7, 2005
1624 posts
216 upvotes
Toronto
Honestly, if you're just going to take notes, I suggest pen and paper :) . Most people can probably write faster than they can type. And even if that's not the case, with paper you can make always make scribbles, side-notes, and diagrams. Of course, it's much cheaper too!

I occassionally see people taking down notes by PDA or laptop, but I think it's less efficient, unless you're actually much faster at typing than writing. The only advantage I can see for PDAs/laptops would be for having neat notes, as well as looking cool (or maybe nerdy :razz: ).

But that's just my opinion :) .

(If you must get one, get a laptop... at least you can watch movies between classes!!! :D )

As for me:
I survived my undergraduate studies with just pen & paper. I'm now doing grad studies, with the aid of a laptop.
Deal Expert
Jun 14, 2001
15556 posts
1026 upvotes