Investing

*** The unofficial RBC Direct Investing thread ***

• Last Updated:
  • Sep 25th, 2020 11:02 am
Jul 6, 2018
410 posts
724 upvotes
gyu138 wrote: I'm fairly new to RBC Direct Investing - is it possible to day trade with it? I noticed that when I buy something, the average price I bought it for isn't updated until the next business day.
Yes. Use the "trading dashboard".
Deal Fanatic
May 22, 2003
5065 posts
2287 upvotes
Vancouver
Does RBC DI accurately track ACB for tax purposes? I have my RRSP/TFSA setup for DRIP, but have avoided using it for my unregistered account as I didn't want to hassle of calculating ACB with the DRIP shares. But if RBC DI keeps track of this as well, I might enable it for my unregistered account too.
Nov 21, 2019
62 posts
28 upvotes
Toronto
How do you enable options trading in a TFSA on RBC-DI? I'd hate to call in and have them start questioning me about it.
Deal Addict
Oct 14, 2015
1151 posts
772 upvotes
brogatta wrote: How do you enable options trading in a TFSA on RBC-DI? I'd hate to call in and have them start questioning me about it.
Under the Place an Order tab, select Options

Click Option Order Entry FAQ

option order.png

Sign and submit the required document.
Once your account is approved for option trading, place your first order.

Not sure if it's still this way, but when I placed my first order years ago,
a pop-up appeared saying I had to phone them to approve my first order.
After that, no phone call required.
Nov 17, 2015
343 posts
72 upvotes
Resolute, NU
I have an Select Conservative investment with RBC and I'd like to temporarily move it to a safer fund while we're going through these turbulent times. What would be my best option? Would a Money Market Fund be suitable for this situation?
Jan 6, 2015
725 posts
185 upvotes
open RBC in promotion, everything set, but confirmation email does not show up.