• Last Updated:
  • Oct 19th, 2019 3:42 am
[OP]
Deal Addict
Feb 4, 2010
3688 posts
2480 upvotes

Using old cellphone as a security camera

I don't need/want live streaming or any other fancy features - just want to record and be able to playback. I was thinking of picking up an old Android from Kijiji and downloading Salient Eye https://www.cnet.com/reviews/salient-ey ... id-review/

Anyone try something similar?
Before responding to someone (online or offline) ask yourself: is it true? is it helpful? is it kind? is it necessary? This comes from an old Sufi adage that is so relevant today.
14 replies
Deal Addict
Sep 15, 2008
1533 posts
3906 upvotes
Pawtucket
I've been using Alfred for a few years now.
https://play.google.com/store/apps/deta ... u&hl=en_CA

Works great with with old phones. Have one running as old as Android 2.3 Gingerbread and it still works fine. Just make sure you use a smart plug to set when the power turns on/off. If you are constantly charging the battery, it will expand and can start a fire. I had a couple of phones where the battery expanded to the point where the LCD separated from the phone. After that, I made sure to use a smart plug and set a time when it would turn on/off.
Deal Fanatic
Sep 29, 2005
5693 posts
1169 upvotes
Montreal
So when the smart plug turns off, you let it run on battery for a few hours and then start charging again - right?

I can see how that would work but wouldn't buying an inexpensive proper security camera like the wyse that has that long thread on RFD be a more efficient solution? I used alfred for awhile on an old phone also but stopped because my wife complained that the charging cable was sticking out and unsightly. While it worked her concern was actually true.

I replaced it with a refurb Canary off eBay with no subscription and we're both happy. Cost was $69 Cdn.
Mine came from Markham but I don't see that listing anymore. At the time, Best Buy also had refurb units for a similar price.