• Apr 2nd, 2021 9:36 am
Tags:
[OP]
Jan 11, 2017
47 posts
4 upvotes
Ottawa

VoIP.ms with what data provider?

I'm planning to ditch my expensive Fido call/text/data plan with VoIP.ms and a data provider.

I think I'll be using Fizz as I can get just data for $17/m (for 1GB) or $20/m (2GB) on LTE.
Are there cheaper options I should be aware of or is this one of the better options?

I've never used VoIP before so I'm new to this.
9 replies
Deal Addict
Aug 19, 2018
1897 posts
2330 upvotes
Fido's "Data only plan for tablet" remains the cheapest data for Canada for $15~ 4GB plus perks. Sometime it get even cheaper due to promotions. If you are in the range of that amount of data, there really isn't another choice that is cheaper. They are at best similar and only on rare promotion. Which Fido also gives. Sometime entirely erase your fee.

You technically need a voice line to get that plan, but if you just sign up at a store they never really care.
Banned
Dec 17, 2019
228 posts
237 upvotes
Montreal
Another vote for Fido’s data plan!
It’s great.
I'm a customer at Public Mobile and VoIP.ms!
Deal Addict
Apr 17, 2014
1110 posts
512 upvotes
Corunna, ON
Only problem is you need to have a cell plan with Fido to order the data sim. Apparently you can cancel the phone plan shortly after.
Deal Addict
Apr 17, 2014
1110 posts
512 upvotes
Corunna, ON
There is also T-Mobile tablet plans that work in both US and CAD.

2 GIG for $10 US and 6 gig for $25 US. No data overages.
Jan 17, 2013
772 posts
368 upvotes
proplayer44 wrote: Only problem is you need to have a cell plan with Fido to order the data sim. Apparently you can cancel the phone plan shortly after.
How does the Data sim works? Does the Data sim needs a phone number of its own?

If you have a cell phone plan which comes with a phone number and order the Data only plan, do you get a second number? So you have two phones number now? When you cancel the cell phone plan, you are left with only one phone number for the Data sim?