Sorry, this offer has expired. Set up a deal alert and get notified of future deals like this. Add a Deal Alert

Expired Hot Deals

Sorry, this offer has expired.
Set up a deal alert and get notified of future deals like this.
Set up a Deal Alert
Walmart Black Friday

Firman P03602 - 4450/3550 Watt Gas Powered Portable Generator - 298

• Last Updated:
  • Nov 13th, 2021 4:11 pm
14 replies
Jun 11, 2011
505 posts
165 upvotes
Be aware that this is a contruction generator. It's absolutely not suited for taking camping. Also very harsh on sensitive electronics.
Deal Fanatic
Dec 17, 2007
6413 posts
2704 upvotes
Total noob when it comes to generators, but I am always worried about losing power in the winter and the heat going out. Would something like this be suitable for keeping a furnace going?
Deal Expert
Jun 15, 2012
15662 posts
10440 upvotes
Southern Ontario
game_fanatic wrote: Total noob when it comes to generators, but I am always worried about losing power in the winter and the heat going out. Would something like this be suitable for keeping a furnace going?
It would but if you have an inverter type generator instead you can also plug in your fridge, lamps, TV, computers etc (buy extension cords and run a mock blackout).
You also need to make the furnace wire a plug which is a cheap DIY:

Deal Addict
Dec 20, 2007
4713 posts
6304 upvotes
Prince George
game_fanatic wrote: Total noob when it comes to generators, but I am always worried about losing power in the winter and the heat going out. Would something like this be suitable for keeping a furnace going?
This generator is 120 volts only, so it would work *if* your furnace is 120 volts and plugs in with a regular plug of some sort. If the furnace is hard wired, then you'd need some electrical work.

It would work fine for temporary use for fridges / freezers. (Cue all the comments about THD in 3... 2... 1... )
Aug 21, 2019
830 posts
609 upvotes
BC