• Last Updated:
  • Feb 7th, 2020 2:56 am
Tags:
[OP]
Nov 11, 2015
75 posts
Toronto, ON

What to do with 25k saved?

I hesitated posting this question as I’m sure many of you will consider it very simple but I’m very new to money management and am pretty confused.

Last year after paying off OSAP, my brother helped me open up a TD Waterhouse investment that had a RRSP, tfsa, chequinG and savings. I put 10k in an RRSP and 5k in a chequing (was told it would waive the annual fee).

I should have done research then but I didn’t, just let my $ sit there. Well this year I have saved about 25k. Not sure what to do with it since I am wanting to buy in two years. So should I put the 25k into my RRSP? I would get $ back and I could always take it out as a first time home buyer? Should I then invest it using the couch potato method recommended here. I don’t want to lose ANY $ though since I will need it soon. Does it make sense to just have it sitting in an RRSP?

Other option is to put it into a TFSA, CIBC has a 2.75% interest right now till March 2020. I haven’t contributed anything to a TFSA yet and this would give me the option to pull out and not pay back. But I wouldn’t get as much back as I would with RRSP. I can also invest in a TFSA portfolio.

So basically my question is RRSP or TFSA? And should I just let the $ sit in both these account or invest it. Thanks :)
Thread Summary
-opened TD Waterhouse account put 10k in RRSP and 5k in chequing
-saved 25k this year
-put in RRSP or TFSA
-invest or don’t invest using couch potato method?
-how does GIC fit into this? Can I purchase it within my TFSA :/
18 replies
[OP]
Nov 11, 2015
75 posts
Toronto, ON
Not sure how to edit my post but the other option a TD advisor gave me was a GIC and then I get a guaranteed rate? And I can do that within a TFSA or no?
Deal Fanatic
Jan 31, 2006
8029 posts
2356 upvotes
Toronto