Investing

What do you think about these dividend stocks?

• Last Updated:
  • Oct 16th, 2012 3:31 pm
[OP]
Nov 27, 2009
319 posts
25 upvotes

What do you think about these dividend stocks?

I have been trying to decide on which stocks to buy to build the energy portion of my portfolio. I am primarily looking for relatively high yield monthly dividend stocks and I am willing to take some risks.
I like the following stocks because they provide a monthly dividend and have been relatively stable over the years.

ZAR
PKI
BNP
PLT.UN

I am fairly new to investing and was hoping to get some opinions on these.
Thanks in advance :)
4 replies
Banned
Feb 15, 2008
26318 posts
3210 upvotes
Calgary
They all look like small cap companies that have been burning enormous amounts of their cash resources, instead of shoring up their balance sheets. None of them really excite me, and they don't really look all that suitable as 'dividend' stocks.
Deal Fanatic
Dec 21, 2005
5279 posts
517 upvotes
Markham
Musabbir wrote: I have been trying to decide on which stocks to buy to build the energy portion of my portfolio. I am primarily looking for relatively high yield monthly dividend stocks and I am willing to take some risks.
I like the following stocks because they provide a monthly dividend and have been relatively stable over the years.

ZAR
PKI
BNP
PLT.UN

I am fairly new to investing and was hoping to get some opinions on these.
Thanks in advance :)
You have an interesting interpretation of "stable over the years"; 3 of the 4 names are down fairly substantially in 2011 & 2012 (ZAR being the least of the worst, while PLT is ~55% off from its $10 IPO price)

Personally, I think ZAR is too small to continue as a separate public company. Whether it'll be able to get fair/full value for its oil assets is debatable given that most juniors/mid caps are struggling with the volatility in oil prices and increases in operating costs. It had to cut its monthly dividend this year to $0.06/mth.