Tags:
None
[OP]
Nov 13, 2011
652 posts
239 upvotes
Vancouver, BC

What happens to underwater mortgages@

Say you take out a mortgage for 400k with 100k downpayment and the value of your property drops to 300k. When it comes time to remortgage do you have to come up with the difference? I know you can walk away from the mortgage in Alberta without personal liability.. what are your options in the rest of Canada?
16 replies
May 29, 2012
528 posts
195 upvotes
Southern Ontario
I think you do have to come up with the %5 min when you remortgage.
In Ontario I dont think you can get away from a mortgage without personal bankruptcy.
But... I'm not an expert so I may be wrong but thats how I understand it to be.
Deal Addict
Aug 10, 2013
2257 posts
574 upvotes
Toronto
You keep paying the mortgage as usual, and ride it out hoping the value goes back up which it normally does. You only file Bankrupcy when you're no longer to make your payments
Deal Addict
Jan 2, 2015
1602 posts
603 upvotes
Toronto, ON
darkcloud8282 wrote: Say you take out a mortgage for 400k with 100k downpayment and the value of your property drops to 300k. When it comes time to remortgage do you have to come up with the difference? I know you can walk away from the mortgage in Alberta without personal liability.. what are your options in the rest of Canada?
You borrowed $300,000, so you need to pay that amount plus interest. If the house's value dropped to $300,000, the bank could still foreclose and sell the house for most of that value so the bank probably wouldn't force an immediate foreclosure (getting regular payments is more profitable than trying to sell the house).

Now I've heard that in the US, if your house value drops below the remaining amount on your mortgage the bank may foreclose on you even if you can keep up with the payments, assuming the homeowner doesn't give up first! Maybe that's possible in Canada too. I sure hope not!
Deal Guru
Feb 9, 2009
11185 posts
9673 upvotes