What should I do with my money?

• Last Updated:
  • Sep 8th, 2011 3:41 pm
[OP]
Nov 25, 2010
3 posts

What should I do with my money?

I'm in the media so I usually get random amounts of money at random times

Just recently I got a steady job so I now have a constant bi-weekly stream of money coming in

WHAT SHOULD I DO WITH IT?

as in should I open a savings account/which one at which bank?

I AM A FINANCE NEWB/DON'T KNOW ANYTHING

I have a checking account with TD currently

and am wondering if I should get a savings account from there or another bank

or some other thing (GIC) or w/e

again I'm a newb...

Thank you for your input!
6 replies
Banned
Feb 15, 2008
26318 posts
3234 upvotes
Calgary
Generally speaking, retire any/all debt if you have any first.

Build yourself up a little bit of a cushion of cash. 2-3 months living expenses.

Once you've done that -- then buy low-cost index funds (ie: TD efunds) and build up the cash savings according to your risk tolerance.

You're going to have to sit down, now that you have this income, and think of some goals.
TodayHello wrote: ...The Banks are smarter than you - they have floors full of people whose job it is to read Mark77 posts...
[OP]
Nov 25, 2010
3 posts
Mark77 wrote: Generally speaking, retire any/all debt if you have any first.

Build yourself up a little bit of a cushion of cash. 2-3 months living expenses.

Once you've done that -- then buy low-cost index funds (ie: TD efunds) and build up the cash savings according to your risk tolerance.

You're going to have to sit down, now that you have this income, and think of some goals.

I have no idea what these low-cost index funds are but I shall look em up!

I just have OSAP dept, no credit card or anything else; so I pay that OSAP debt with every paycheck.

I don't have a particular goal other then to move out but that's like in 1-2 years

does knowing this now change anything?
Deal Fanatic
Dec 8, 2007
5309 posts
1699 upvotes