• Aug 26th, 2019 12:52 am
[OP]
Apr 20, 2018
787 posts
112 upvotes
Mississauga, ON

what is your method on picking a stock

Hi everybody

I'm new to the game and was curious on what everybody's method on picking a stock and believe that it going to increase in price
112 replies
Deal Addict
Nov 9, 2013
4143 posts
4048 upvotes
Edmonton, AB
A few tips:

- Time is your friend - pick a strategy you can stick with for the long haul
- Think like a business owner - buy stocks in businesses that you would want to own
- Don't buy something simply because you think the price will go up - often the price will go down and if you have no conviction for the underlying company you will panic sell
- It's often easier to screen out stocks than screen in stocks (i.e. have pre-determined rule out criteria)
- Keep an investment journal and document what and why you buy and really try and think about what could go wrong. It's also useful to think about why you would sell, and write that down too.
- Regularly review your investment journal and pay attention to what you do well and what you don't. You will always make mistakes (we all do) and they give you an opportunity to improve.
Keep calm and go long
[OP]
Apr 20, 2018
787 posts
112 upvotes
Mississauga, ON
treva84 wrote: A few tips:

- Time is your friend - pick a strategy you can stick with for the long haul
- Think like a business owner - buy stocks in businesses that you would want to own
- Don't buy something simply because you think the price will go up - often the price will go down and if you have no conviction for the underlying company you will panic sell
- It's often easier to screen out stocks than screen in stocks (i.e. have pre-determined rule out criteria)
- Keep an investment journal and document what and why you buy and really try and think about what could go wrong. It's also useful to think about why you would sell, and write that down too.