Computers & Electronics

What's the best laptop for student in college/university?

• Last Updated:
  • Dec 29th, 2019 1:25 pm
Tags:
None
[OP]
Sep 14, 2011
78 posts
13 upvotes
EDMONTON

What's the best laptop for student in college/university?

Hi I am a student going into general engineering 1st year. My budget is ~1000-1300 CAD. Generally I would look for a ultrabook for mobility and longevity in battery life. But after doing some research, A dedicated graphics card might be needed in order modelling software (AutoCAD) for second year engineering.

Laptop models I am interested in found instores of bestbuy:
Dell inspiron 15 7559 ~$1300CAD
ASUS VivoBook Flip TP501 ~1150CAD
ASUS X456UJ ~950CAD
ASUS K501UX (1 TB HDD, 12gb ram) ~1250CAD

I was wondering in terms of Specs/mobility (weight) Which would you rank 1st and 2nd? And were there any laptops you would recommend given my situation?
32 replies
Deal Fanatic
Nov 4, 2008
6679 posts
6576 upvotes
Richmond Hill
Can't say for the CAD aspect, but if I were to relive my university days, I would go for a MacBook or a Thinkpad for their durability. If you need horsepower, I'd recommend looking at the W-series or P-series.
When given enough time, all threads on RFD can and will go off on a tangent.
Deal Fanatic
Jan 21, 2008
6207 posts
2251 upvotes
I had the MacBook 12-inch, I quite liked it. Much more enjoyable to use than my Windows based Samsung ultrabook (no, I"m not a Apple fanboy. I would take any 2016 Android flagship over the iPhone 6s). I had a Samsung ATIV Book 9 Plus (13.3” QHD+ Touch), a high end Samsung ultrabook on Windows for comparison
Deal Fanatic
Oct 16, 2008
8101 posts
2761 upvotes
Maple
Thinkpad T450; it's thin, light and battery last long time.
Feb 25, 2015
914 posts
1120 upvotes
NB
teoconca wrote: Thinkpad T450; it's thin, light and battery last long time.