Shopping Discussion

When will mask, sanitizer manufacturers catch up?

• Last Updated:
  • Sep 21st, 2020 3:09 pm
[OP]
Temp. Banned
Dec 18, 2009
1710 posts
908 upvotes
Toronto

When will mask, sanitizer manufacturers catch up?

We are now 4 months in and still having to scramble to find these things, and at inflated prices to boot. I am no expert on supply chains and manufacturing but I cannot believe these things have not levelled off yet. Can anybody who is educated in this field please comment? I am curious to know why we are still seeing shortages of these things.
56 replies
Deal Fanatic
Dec 5, 2006
8328 posts
3772 upvotes
Markham
I think they already did?

Which items you cannot find?

One thing though: don't compare prices to pre pandemic, the demand is different. Like mask, how many wore it in last summer vs how many wear this summer, not just Canada but worldwide. So I would say they have caught up in terms of availability
Deal Addict
Oct 2, 2013
2250 posts
2149 upvotes
Montreal
This is capitalism pure and simple. Why sell cheap if people will spent $$ ?

Get reusable (we paid $5 each and we got 6, 3 for me and 3 for the wife)... you use them and at the end of the week you wash them.
Feb 24, 2017
125 posts
65 upvotes
Most places are stocked now and I suggest you stock up more for the second wave.
Dec 18, 2017
919 posts
521 upvotes
London, On
I see tons of sanitizer all over the place. Strange though that I never seem to see Purell brand though. Not sure if the stuff I see at the corner store is trustworthy. Purell at least has a reputation. I imagine they are focusing on institutional and bulk supply rather than pumping out the retail packaging sizes. Wipes also seem to be hit and miss still.
[OP]
Temp. Banned
Dec 18, 2009
1710 posts
908 upvotes
Toronto
on second thought, you guys are right. I think I am mistaking high prices for a hot commodity, not shortages.
Deal Guru
Jan 27, 2006
14547 posts
7444 upvotes
Vancouver, BC