Careers

Where can I leverage my financial planning skills?

• Last Updated:
  • Jan 11th, 2021 4:41 pm
Feb 12, 2008
195 posts
40 upvotes
Toronto

Where can I leverage my financial planning skills?

Hi,

I have been doing minor financial planning tasks for friends and family (filing tax returns, giving financial planning advice, simple portfolio allocation etc.) While my day job is another field, I have acquired sufficient financial qualiifications and have a good working knowledge of stocks, bonds, mutual funds, insurance products, etc.

I am thinking of working in this field on a full time basis, but I am not sure what kind of firm would be looking for people like me. I hear that the financial planners in bank branches are mostly forced to sell the bank's products. I want to be able to do an honest job of explaining financial complexities and advising people on creating their financial plans.

In view of the above, what kind of firms should I target?

Thanks
---------------------------------
Almost all problems in our lives can be traced back to a lack of knowledge.
5 replies
Deal Guru
Jan 19, 2017
10058 posts
6150 upvotes
musicgold wrote: Hi,

I have been doing minor financial planning tasks for friends and family (filing tax returns, giving financial planning advice, simple portfolio allocation etc.) While my day job is another field, I have acquired sufficient financial qualiifications and have a good working knowledge of stocks, bonds, mutual funds, insurance products, etc.

I am thinking of working in this field on a full time basis, but I am not sure what kind of firm would be looking for people like me. I hear that the financial planners in bank branches are mostly forced to sell the bank's products. I want to be able to do an honest job of explaining financial complexities and advising people on creating their financial plans.

Thanks