Tags:
[OP]
Deal Guru
Mar 1, 2008
14174 posts
3391 upvotes
Toronto, Ontario

Where Do I Progress From Here?

I've been working in insurance for over 4 years now and I still cannot break the $50k barrier. I graduated from Ryerson with an undergraduate degree majoring in finance in 2015, and am currently employed as an intermediate personal lines underwriter. I'm looking for a new job but I feel like I'm stuck in the insurance sector. How do I progress from my current job as an underwriter? I'm looking to get back into a business or IT related job and it seems my current job experience and skills don't translate over at all. I recently obtained my CIP as well.

Edit: I want to add I am expecting a promotion to senior underwriter by year end. My manager has recognized my skills and how I really know my stuff and do an excellent job underwriting, as well as being a great team player and trainer for my new colleagues. I'd like to think I'm one of the better underwriters on the team and I've been recognized by the manager, VPs, and above as well.
22 replies
Deal Fanatic
Dec 8, 2007
5012 posts
1178 upvotes
1. Get promo
2. Stick around long enough to become really good at it while concurrently exploring where you can go next
3. Start working your way towards that next step

For most junior level roles in most large organizations the rule of thumb is not to stick to a position for more than 2 years or so. The first 3-6 months is learning how to do the job, the next year is adding value to the business, and then round 18 months you go into 'What do I want to do next and how do I work towards it' mode. At that point you should be able to do the job with your eyes closed and should be able to perform at a very high level while concurrently networking, doing job shadows, having coffees, etc. etc.

That's the meat and potatoes standard approach.