Real Estate

Where is a good place to buy a rental property near Guelph?

• Last Updated:
  • Mar 5th, 2021 11:02 am
[OP]
May 12, 2020
41 posts
7 upvotes
Guelph

Where is a good place to buy a rental property near Guelph?

Hello all! I am a beginner investor from Guelph looking to purchase a 2nd rental property. I am finding properties in Guelph hard to cash flow with 20% down and am looking for alternatives and maybe a different location that is not too far. I would appreciate any ideas or insights on something that might make sense and of course adds up number wise. Trying to learn more and would appreciate any ideas. Thank you!
Last edited by pters11 on Mar 1st, 2021 8:09 am, edited 2 times in total.
25 replies
Mar 29, 2016
166 posts
129 upvotes
Toronto
Calgary/Edmonton maybe possible but I’m not sure about future appreciations.
Jan 23, 2010
78 posts
13 upvotes
London , ON, still very cheap for nice luxury homes, great community
Deal Addict
Nov 13, 2013
2542 posts
1280 upvotes
Ottawa
User149646 wrote: Hello all! I am a beginner investor from Guelph looking to purchase a 2nd rental property. I am finding properties in Guelph hard to cash flow with 20% down and am looking for alternatives and maybe a different location that is not too far. I would appreciate any ideas or insights on something that might make sense and of course adds up number wise. Trying to learn more and would appreciate any ideas. Thank you!
Cash flow is often inversely related to appreciation potential. Theoretically Real Estate is an investment like any other. It has a value based on its current and projected future income. We know of course this is a very loose correlation. A SFH home in GTA has no relation to its rental value. If you buy one as an investment you are assuming that historical and especially recent increases will continue to outpace inflation and other investments. The easy 5X leverage real estate allows routinely only exaggerates these returns.