Students

Where would an engineering technology diploma take me?

Jul 7, 2010
2 posts
1 upvote

Where would an engineering technology diploma take me?

I'm currently in my first year of engineering at the University of Alberta, but I'm very strongly considering withdrawing since I've been really struggling with some of my math courses. At this point I don't believe that I will pass if I continue on and have begun looking at other options, like the engineering technology programs at NAIT. I'm trying to find information on exactly what kind of jobs a tech diploma would lead to. The few people I know of that have gone this route seem to all be working in places like Ft. Mac and other smaller cities throughout Alberta, which isn't really where I want to end up. Sure they make good money there but I would like to be able to live in a bigger city, preferably even somewhere outside of Alberta like BC or Ontario eventually.

Does anyone have any information about this? In particular, I've been looking at the chemical engineering technology and biomedical engineering technology programs. Any recommendations on different disciplines that might be of interest to someone in my position? What is the job market like for someone with an engineering tech diploma outside of Alberta?
6 replies
Sep 30, 2012
305 posts
42 upvotes
Hamilton
I graduated from a 3-year Advanced Diploma in Software Engineering from Mohawk College and currently have a very solid career job with a very good pay. I still want to go back to school and get a degree in Computer Science but that's a whole other topic.