Investing

Why are bank stocks not recovering as economy begins to reopen?

• Last Updated:
  • May 28th, 2020 11:53 am
Deal Addict
Oct 21, 2014
1939 posts
2938 upvotes
Burlington, ON
jaysdt wrote: yes, there will be a segment of people who will make the right decisions, but please don't compare a random RFD poster to someone that has their PHD/ivey undergrad. in addition, looking at trailing earnings tells you nothing about what's happening now or the future. anyways i'm not here to dissuade you; i initially asked to see if you had a cogent investment thesis instead of a cursory glance at the company. to be clear i'm neutral on banks and neither bullish/bearish, but see them having a hard time beating the index (take a look at the breakdown of total return if you haven't). take it for what it's worth - this is what i do for a living and my US institutional trade desk contact just emailed me this "Tech still holding on pretty well all things considered but Financials and Energy action is gross as the losers keep losing. Look at Fins /Energy. Bottom today, bottom YTD and furthest away from their 200 day moving averages ". keep in mind that this was his day to day commentary - hope this helped and have a nice day.
Thanks for sharing your knowledge and what your team member said, I will certainly consider it.
Deal Addict
Mar 22, 2012
2151 posts
382 upvotes
Toronto
Millions are out of a job and many businesses closing. At the same time, debt levels are the highest it's been. Could be big losses for banks if many can't pay their loans.
Deal Fanatic
Jul 23, 2007
5130 posts
4924 upvotes