Tags:
None
Deal Expert
Oct 23, 2008
19240 posts
17869 upvotes
GTA, ON

Wife's Civic sluggish

So here's the thing, just started up my wife's Civic and it feels rather sluggish. The RPMs immediately dropped to about a steady 500rpm but the engine feels like it's struggling to maintain itself at that level. The car itself is driving quite sluggish, though it is accelerating it feels like there is no power. The car is now at 108k, so I know it's likely due for maintenance like the timing belt & water pump. I also know that an O2 sensor needs to be replaced as I have the engine light on and I've read the code. Going to stop by the mechanic later this week.

I have basic auto knowledge but far from an expert. Do you think it just needs new spark plugs or is this a sign of something else?
Tis banana is IRIE 😎

10% off is cold, 50% off is warm, 75% off is hot, but FREE IS RFD!
11 replies
Deal Guru
Mar 1, 2004
12861 posts
1485 upvotes
Pickering
I was going to say O2. IF the poor car has no clue what is going on, don't expect it to perform.
Deal Expert
Oct 23, 2008
19240 posts
17869 upvotes
GTA, ON
AudiDude wrote: I was going to say O2. IF the poor car has no clue what is going on, don't expect it to perform.
It's been driving okay up to this week, even with the engine light on. Darn wife has brought in her car for servicing even though I've told her to. Could it be something else?
Tis banana is IRIE 😎

10% off is cold, 50% off is warm, 75% off is hot, but FREE IS RFD!
Deal Fanatic
Jun 11, 2005
8633 posts
2399 upvotes
Mississauga