Personal Finance

Will cancelling my credit card of 16 years effect my credit?

• Last Updated:
  • Aug 4th, 2020 5:53 pm
[OP]
Dec 16, 2012
774 posts
500 upvotes
Barrie, ON

Will cancelling my credit card of 16 years effect my credit?

I've had 1 credit card ever since I was young (maybe 16 years?) Never missed a payment, but it was the TD Visa card where they don't give you much benefit (because I was younger at the time with new credit) so since then, I got a PC elite MasterCard because of the points and was thinking about getting the CT Triangle world elite because of some of the benefits like towing, etc.

So here's the issue I have, I went to cancel the TD Visa and the TD guy on the phone said that it would delete my credit history of all the years I had the card... Is this true?

Does it affect your rating? Should I just keep it in a drawer never used? What will happen if I cancel?
32 replies
Deal Guru
Dec 5, 2006
12640 posts
7761 upvotes
Markham
It will show as close in the bureau and if no balance on it, score calculation will exclude this card

But on the other hand, close your longest card might impact your score, the question is what's your second longest card?

If you another card has longer than 5 years + in the bureau, I wouldn't worry.

Another thing to consider is if you don't use it, TD might not renew it once it's expired, so same impact as cancellation

But honestly, given current situation, banks all tightening their conditions, so do nothing is better for now except they charge your fee, now is not normal time
[OP]
Dec 16, 2012
774 posts
500 upvotes
Barrie, ON
smartie wrote: It will show as close in the bureau and if no balance on it, score calculation will exclude this card

But on the other hand, close your longest card might impact your score, the question is what's your second longest card?

If you another card has longer than 5 years + in the bureau, I wouldn't worry.