• Dec 17th, 2020 10:50 am
[OP]
Deal Addict
Sep 15, 2006
1235 posts
527 upvotes
Ottawa

Window Condensation - New Home

This is my first time owning a brand new built house and now that the temps in Ottawa are dipping below -20C I'm getting condensation on windows. I thought the humidity levels needed to be between 40-60% because of the hardwood flooring to avoid issues like cracking. My furnace has a humidifier with a little dial on it, it's currently set to between 30-40% (no numbers just a range between 10-75%) and internal humidity level is currently 37%. I do have an HRV system and tbh it's been off, I just realized this should be on during the winter, correct? (again never owned a new house, excuse my stupidity here). There are three settings, Econo, Ventilation and 20 min/hr, which should I put it on? I just worry about mold/mildew in the house with two babies but also worry about the hardwood floors. Any help would be appreciated.
25 replies
Deal Fanatic
Dec 5, 2009
5676 posts
3428 upvotes
Try searching because this gets asked frequently. You probably have cheap builder grade windows and when it gets very cold humidity levels need to be lower.

First thing I would do is buy a humidity gauge (costs a few bucks) and find out how much humidity there in in your home.

From there , there are guides online that indicate what humidity to set at what outside temperature.
[OP]
Deal Addict
Sep 15, 2006
1235 posts
527 upvotes
Ottawa
fdl wrote: Try searching because this gets asked frequently. You probably have cheap builder grade windows and when it gets very cold humidity levels need to be lower.

First thing I would do is buy a humidity gauge (costs a few bucks) and find out how much humidity there in in your home.

From there , there are guides online that indicate what humidity to set at what outside temperature.