Parenting & Family

Winter clothes for family

[OP]
May 10, 2021
4 posts

Winter clothes for family

Hello Experts, I am new to Canada/Ontario and the winter. I have two kids with age 11 and 3 and I hear from my neighbors to get the winter clothes at the earliest for all of us. What clothes should be in my list and where to buy which is not expensive?
10 replies
Deal Addict
Jan 2, 2015
2551 posts
2332 upvotes
NOT centre of Univer…
Slickdealing wrote: Hello Experts, I am new to Canada/Ontario and the winter. I have two kids with age 11 and 3 and I hear from my neighbors to get the winter clothes at the earliest for all of us. What clothes should be in my list and where to buy which is not expensive?
Welcome to Canada. The winter season starts very early in Canada depending on your city. I can only speak to mine which is less humid and has dryer winters. I think the general list:
- Good winter boot especially for the 11 year old. They will be outside walking to school/bus, playing at lunch and recess.
- Winter jacket and snow pants
- Mittens - water proof, I always get 2 (sometimes) more of the same glove because my kids lose them so much, and occasionally they lose opposite sets, so I may save a set. Though a few years I have someone had 3 of one hand, and none of the others
- Lighter gloves (cheap mini gloves that can be worn underneath the mitten for extra layers, but more for the car or short trips
- Warm hat/toque
- One piece neck gator that also go up, I prefer these over scarfs as they are less likely to get caught and strangle the kid, and can be doubled up
- Base layer/long underwear top and bottom, at least for the 11 year old, I never bothered for them until they were out for longer times without me
- Good wool socks that are a little longer