• Last Updated:
  • Jan 12th, 2021 11:18 am
[OP]
Aug 18, 2013
83 posts
12 upvotes
Oakville

Winter Tire Traction Issue

Hi all, I recently put a new set of winter tires (Pirelli Winter Ice Zero) on the stock rims of my 2020 330. The issue I’m having is that the traction light comes on during cornering or when accelerating on the highway from 80–130, even under dry conditions. Can anyone share their input on what the potential issue could be?
16 replies
Deal Expert
Sep 21, 2010
15185 posts
4602 upvotes
Montréal
I'm by no means an expert but the system is really proactive and anticipates so it will(seems to) activate w the premise 'better have some DSC rather than not'. Do you feel any slipping at all or are you driving too fast for the conditions?

I usually leave DSC on as that seems to address most of the winter conditions. Only one time I should have switched it off (so it goes into 'traction' mode) when I was heading up a snowy/slipping steep hill and at that time I didn't know one can do that (lol) and I kept getting stuck as the DSC keep coming on...that's probably the only real time to switch DSC off.
Hard work, inheritance, interest on interest accumulating, and stock and real estate speculation. It's all good.
Deal Guru
Mar 13, 2004
12108 posts
3715 upvotes
Ontario
Just a guess but since its RWD you have less weight over the back and that could be why. You could try putting 2 or 4 bags of sand in the back for extra weight just to see if it makes a difference. But also keep in mind the extra weight could also possibly increase your stopping distance in an emergency.

other then that check your tire pressure. Maybe its inflated to much, letting out 1-2 psi may be enough to get you a bigger contact patch and increase grip .
im also guessing the car is stock? you don't have any performance or suspension mods?