Tags:
[OP]
Deal Addict
Apr 1, 2012
1163 posts
201 upvotes
SCARBOROUGH

Is it worthy to fix a 9 yrs old mower.

Toro Kohler engine, bought Brandnew in 2012. Did some maintenance as I am not an expert. Run last summer and won't start today. Checked/cleaned spark plugs, oil is clean, filter is iffy as soaked spilled gas. But it won't start at all, dead silence in engine. Just debating if I should get fixed by professional or just buy a new one. Your thoughts plz? Thanks
19 replies
Deal Expert
Aug 2, 2001
17016 posts
7354 upvotes
I am not an expert but I do not think it is often the mower itself requires a complete engine rebuild. Even a simple carb rebuild, tuneup and sharpening should be under $100.

That said, if the issue is dead silence it almost sounds like the safety bar is not engaging. I do not know the technical term, but you have the bar you have to hold down while the mower is running. If that is not properly engaged then the mower does nothing. Period. If you were getting spark and at least a little gas I would assume you would get at least a little engine "noise".

One thing that does wear out over time is the cable that goes from the safety bar to the engine. It can stretch over time and needs either replacement or tightening. With this cable you would experience the issue you describe.

This is a video that goes through what I describe:

Having a lawnmower repair place do this would be inexpensive.

In short yes, I would fix a 9 year old mower. Unless you are noticing issues with the metal frame of the mower rusting, the engine itself should last decades even with neglect.
Deal Guru
Sep 1, 2005
14247 posts
9021 upvotes
Markham
9 year old is not old. It's fixable just Google a bunch of vids to help you diagnose and repair it.