Real Estate

Your opinion on this builder's upgrade fees [Pre-Drywall]

• Last Updated:
  • Oct 29th, 2018 10:03 pm
Mar 25, 2017
498 posts
270 upvotes

Your opinion on this builder's upgrade fees [Pre-Drywall]

I'm a big time newbie, please share your thoughts on these Pre-Drywall upgrade fees. This is a 3 story townhome.
Images
  • Builders upgrade.jpg
65 replies
Banned
Feb 13, 2017
951 posts
1283 upvotes
oh man....what is going on in this world?

$2650 for smooth ceilings? LOL
$13,500 for oak stairs? LOL
$1,350 for 4 - 4" potlights? LOLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLL
Under cabinet light? $1,740? Uwotm8????

Please tell me this is a joke?

Potlights cost $50 to install each (before drywall)...that includes the light....after the drywall the retro fit is usually $100-$125 per pot light.

In my reno, a whole set of custom Oak stairs (11 steps total), cost me $3,500 + $1000 to stain (this was 6 years ago, but still...$13,500?? are they on crack??)

Dude, do not take any of this crap! This is pretty shocking...is this what the market has come to?

EDIT: read some more....this is pure comedy gold.

$150 for 1 USB outlet?

Here are 2 for $30:

https://www.amazon.ca/Charger-Electrica ... tlet&psc=1

Go crazy.

Edit 2: $300 for 1 dimmer switch????

Here is one for $29....probably the same brand they would give you for $300

https://www.amazon.ca/Lutron-dimmable-I ... mer+switch
Deal Fanatic
Jan 15, 2017
5750 posts
6123 upvotes
Ottawa
Without seeing the floor plan and knowing the builder and location, it is virtually impossible to comment. For instance, the oak stairs upgrade. Yours is a 3-story town. Is that for the 3 staircases? How wide are the stairs? Any other features included in the prices?
Mar 25, 2017
498 posts
270 upvotes
crocp8 wrote: oh man....what is going on in this world?

$2650 for smooth ceilings? LOL
$13,500 for oak stairs? LOL
$1,350 for 4 - 4" potlights? LOLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLL

Please tell me this is a joke?